Order of the planets in the solar system The solar system is a collection of several objects in the sky. The solar system itself consists of one sun which is used as the central star of the cycle, besides that all objects are also bound by a gravitational force. Objects included in the solar system include eight planets, five dwarf planets or dwarf planets, one hundred and seventy-three satellites that are still natural and there are also millions of other celestial bodies such as asteroids, meteoroids and comets.

Currently, there are eight planets that have been categorized as a planet. In the 30’s another planet was discovered, named Pluto, but Pluto is only included in the dwarf planet category. So, the number of planets listed as members of the solar system is only eight. Of the eight planets belonging to the members of the solar system, they have their own order. The order of the planets in the solar system will be the topic of my current discussion.

Order of the planets of the solar system

In general terms, the term planet is defined as a celestial body that cannot emit heat or light energy but can move around the sun regularly and steadily. The number of planets that have been determined by the international astronomical union or by the IAU (International Astronomical Union) is 8 planets. In a little description below, I will explain about the list of names order of planets of the solar system.

Order of the planets in the solar system

Planets that have evolved or moved to revolve around a sun in a line of their own orbit by setting the sun as a center. When the planets evolve, they will perform rotational activities. The definition of rotation itself is that the planets rotate on their axis. In general, each of these planets has an accompaniment that can move around the planet. This companion is called a natural satellite.

In a provision that was set in 2006 at a general assembly of the astronomical association, it was determined the number of planets that belonged to the solar system. There are eight planets in the solar system. Although in the 30s a planet named Pluto was discovered, Pluto could not enter or could not be considered a planet, because Pluto did not have the requirements as a planet. Now, after knowing the number of planets in the solar system, now is the time for you to know the order of the planets in the solar system. Here are the names of the names order of planets in the solar system :

  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune