Fatty Nutrients – Compounds between fatty acids and glycerol are called “fats”, composed of the elements C, H, and O, and sometimes P and N. Fats are insoluble in water, but soluble in organic solvents, such as ether, chloroform, and kerosene. Fat is divided into 3, namely:

1. Simple fat

Which includes simple fats, namely fats and oils. Composed of triglycerides (one glycerol and three fatty acids).

2. Mixed fat

Which includes mixed fats, namely phospholipids, phosphatides, and lipoproteins. Phospholipids are components that form the structure of cell walls, which function to prevent excessive evaporation of water. Phosphate, formed by the body itself from fatty acids, glycerin, choline, and phosphate, serves to regulate fat deposits in the body. Many are found in egg yolks, brain, and nerves.

Lipoprotein is a fat that contains the element N, serves to transport several types of food substances from the digestive tract to all cells or body tissues that need it.

3. Real fat

Real fats include fatty acids, sterols, cholesterol, and vitamin D solvents.

Source of Fat

There are 2 types of food sources of fat, namely:

1. Vegetable fat (saturated fatty acids and unsaturated fatty acids)

Vegetable fats generally contain unsaturated fatty acids, except for coconut oil. Examples of vegetable fats, namely: palm oil, coconut oil, olive oil, corn oil, sunflower oil, margarine and nuts.

2. Animal fat (saturated fatty acids)

Animal fats contain saturated fatty acids, except fish and shellfish. Examples of animal fats, namely: butter, milk, cheese, meat, fish, and egg yolks.

Fat Function

Functions of fat include:

Energy sources.

Solvent vitamins A, D, E, and K.

Source of essential fatty acids.

Source: http://www.articlebiologi.com/