Welcome to softilmu, a simple blog that shares knowledge with sincerity. This time we will share knowledge about BPUPKI (Investigating Agency for Preparatory Work for Indonesian Independence), some of the main points that we will discuss are Definition of BPUPKI, BPUPKI member, BPUPKI tasks, and History of BPUPKI. Immediately yes, hopefully it can be useful. J
BPUPKI or the agency for investigating efforts to prepare for Indonesian independence is a body formed by the Japanese on April 29, 1945. This agency was formed with the reason of getting support from the Indonesian people to want to help the Japanese people by promising independence for the Indonesian people. This body is chaired by Kanjeng Raden Tumenggung (KRT) Radjiman Wedyodiningrat and his representatives are Ichibangase Yoshio (Japanese) and Raden Pandji Soeroso. This body consists of 67 people. BPUPKI has the task of studying and investigating matters relating to aspects of political economy, governance and other matters needed to prepare for Indonesian independence.
Well, not long after BPUPKI was dissolved, a new body was formed to replace BPUPKI. The agency is the PPKI or the Preparatory Committee for Indonesian Independence (Dokuritsu Junbi Inkai) with a total of 21 members with the chairman being Ir. Soekarno, his deputy Drs. M. Hatta and Mr. Ahmad Soebardjo as PPKI advisor. The PPKI members were chosen by representing various ethnic groups representing Indonesia including: 12 people from Java, 3 people from Sumatra, 2 people from Sulawesi, 1 person from Kalimantan, 1 person from Sunda Minor (Nusa Tenggara), 1 person from Maluku and the last 1 ethnic Chinese.
Well, friends in an association, organization, agency or NGO need members so that an agency can run well. BPUPKI has a total of 67 members. Some of them will be discussed below.
  1. KRT Radjiman Wedyodiningrat (chairman)
  2. RP Soeroso (Vice Chairman)
  3. Ichibangse Yoshio (Vice Chairman), Japanese
  4. Ir. Soekarno
  5. Drs. Moh. Hatta
  6. Mr. Muhammad Yamin
  7. Prof. Dr. Mr. Soepomo
  8. KH. Wachid Hashim
  9. Abdoel Kahar Muzakir
  10. Mr. AA Maramis
  11. Abikoesno Tjokrosoejo
  12. H. Agoes Salim
  13. Mr. Achmad Soebardjo
  14. Prof. Dr. PAA Hoesein Djajadiningrat
  15. Ki Bagoes Hadikusumo
  16. AR Baswedan
  17. Soekiman
  18. Abdoel Kaffar
  19. RAA Poerbonegoro Soemitro Kolopaking
  20. KH Ahmad Sanusi
  21. KH Abdul Salim
  22. Liem Koen Hian
  23. Tang Eng Hoa
  24. Oey Tiang Tjoe
  25. Oey Tjong Hauw
  26. Yep Tjwan Bing.

First Session
The first BPUPKI session was held in a building, namely the Chuo Sang In building on Jalan Pejambon 6 Jakarta, which is now known as the Pancasila building. The first meeting was opened on May 28, 1945 and started the next day, on May 29, 1945 with the theme “Basic State”. Well, in this first session, there were 3 people who gave their opinion on the Basic State, my friend. They are Mr. Muhammad Yamin, Prof. Dr. Mr. Soepomo and Ir. Sukarno.
On May 29, 1945 Mr. Muhammad Yamin put forward five principles from the basis of the State, including:
  1. National Fairy
  2. Fairy of Humanity
  3. Fairy Godhead
  4. Folk Fairy
  5. People welfare

Two days later, Prof. Dr.Mr. Soepomo on May 31, 1945 proposed the Indonesian Constitution as follows:
  1. Unity
  2. Consensus and Democracy
  3. Social justice
  4. kinship
  5. discussion

Well, the next day on June 1, 1945, Ir. Soekarno also proposed five principles of the state which we now know as Pancasila.
  1. Indonesian Nationality
  2. Internationalism and the Fairy of Humanity
  3. Consensus or Democracy
  4. Social welfare
  5. Belief in the one and only God

According to Ir. Soekarno, the five principles can still be squeezed into Ekasila or Trisila. Furthermore, the Five Principles are called Pancasila in a different order.
Well, the formation of these precepts became a debate among the participants who attended the BPUPKI session. This debate discusses the establishment of Islamic rules in the new Indonesia.
The first trial of BPUPKI ended on June 1, 1945 and has not yet produced any final decision on the basis of the Free Indonesian State until a recess period was held for 1 month.
On June 22, 1945, BPUPKI formed a small committee consisting of 9 people and was called the Nine Committee. The members of the committee of nine are:
  1. Ir. Soekarno
  2. Drs. Moch. Hatta
  3. Mr. Achmad Soebardjo
  4. Mr. Muhammad Yamin
  5. KH. Wachid Hashim
  6. Abdul Kahar Muzakir
  7. Abikoesno Tjokrosoejoso
  8. H. Agus Salim
  9. Mr. AA Maramis

After deliberation with the Committee of Nine, resulted in a formulation that describes the aims and objectives of the establishment of an Independent Indonesian State. by Mr. Muhammad Yamin, the formulation is called the Jakarta Charter or the Jakarta Charter. The formulations are:
  1. God with the obligation to carry out Islamic law for its adherents
  2. Just and civilized humanity
  3. the unity of Indonesia
  4. Democracy led by wisdom in representative deliberation
  5. Social justice for all the people of Indonesia

Second Session
The second meeting of BPUPKI took place on 10-17 July 1945 with the topics of discussion namely the form of the State, the territory of the State, citizenship, the draft of the Constitution, economics and finance, defense of the State, education and teaching. At this second meeting a committee of 19 people was formed to discuss the draft constitution, chaired by Ir. Soekarno himself, my friend. Not to forget, the Committee for Defending the Homeland was also formed, chaired by Abikoesno Tjokrosoejoso and the Committee for Economics and Finance, chaired by Drs. Moch. Hatta.
Based on the results of the vote, the territory of an independent Indonesia has been determined. The area includes the former Dutch East Indies, plus Malaya, North Borneo, Papua, Portuguese Timor and the surrounding islands.
On July 11, 1945, the Drafting Committee of the Constitution re-established a small committee consisting of 7 members, namely:
  1. prf. Dr. Mr. Soepomo
  2. Mr. Wongsonegoro
  3. Mr. Achmad Soebardjo
  4. Mr. AA Maramis
  5. Mr. RP Singgih
  6. H. Agus Salim
  7. Dr. Soekiman

The Second Session of BPUPKI on July 14, 1945, in order to receive the report of the Drafting Committee of the Constitution, Ir. Soekarno reported three results, namely:
  1. Declaration of Independence of Indonesia
  2. Preamble to the Constitution
  3. Body of the Constitution

Well that’s the post this time about BPUPKI (Investigating Agency for Preparatory Work for Indonesian Independence). Hopefully it can be useful. If you have something to ask, please ask in the comment box below. We will try to respond quickly and appropriately. Thank you for visiting Softilmu, don’t forget to follow, like and comment, okay? J